Cleaning out my closet

I’m sure most people remember where they were when they heard huge news whether good or bad. I was in the Treasury store in Memphis when I heard that Elvis had died. Of course, it meant nothing really to me at 6 years old. I was home alone when my step mom told me over the phone my Daddy had died. I was at my desk at work when I found out again on the phone that Tim had died. 

I was cleaning out my closet with Madelyn helping me when I found out through FB messenger that my baby had passed away. 

Is there ever a better way than others to find out devestating life changing news?

During my 20+ day and night stay in the ICU waiting room, I saw many people learn that kind of news. Always a bad sign when they called you back to the “consultation” room. I was called there the first 2 nights. It was a nightmare. Those called back ranged from a young newly married woman who lost her husband after a month there. An older gentleman who lost his wife after just a few hours. I remember him saying, but Joy comes in the morning, over and over. Joy did not come for him that morning. A mother who lost her 30 year old son from a drive by shooting. Seeing all that loss changes you. 

I still haven’t finished cleaning out my closet. Tomorrow will be 8 weeks. I have shoved clothes in various places, so we could sleep on the bed. I don’t know if I will ever finish that chore or be able to do it again without crying the whole time. 

Maybe some day, Joy will come in the morning. 

One thought on “Cleaning out my closet

Leave a Reply

