Step 4 of the 12 steps

This is the hardest step so far for me.

Celebrate Recovery is a Christian-based recovery program for those with hurts, habits or hang-ups.  So, not just for addiction to drugs or alcohol.

Principle 4- Openly examine and confess my faults to myself, to God, and to someone I trust. “Happy are the pure in heart.” Matthew 5:8

Step 4-  We made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves.  “Let us examine our ways and test them, and let us return to the Lord.” Lamentations 3:40

How many of us really want to even think about our faults, much less confess them out loud to another?  This is hard.  even for someone who is very critical of myself, it’s hard to think about all of the things I’ve done that have hurt others.  Of course, they tell us to list the good, too.  Once you’re stuck in the bad thinking, it’s hard to even go to the good.

You have to reflect on memories from as far back as you can remember.You need to think about 4 areas of your life:  Relationships with others, Priorities in life, Attitude, and Integrity.

I’ve answered the first 2 sets of questions and gone over them with “Courtney”.  I will forever be grateful for therapy and the ways it helps me.  Soon I will share my thoughts with my accountability partner and maybe a few with my group of CR ladies.

Think about some of these questions about your relationships with others:

Who has hurt you? Who are you holding a grudge against (seeking revenge)? Who are you jealous of and why? Who have you hurt and how? Who have you been critical of or gossiped about and why? How do you attempt to blame others?

Those are pretty tough.  I didn’t want to admit it when I had hurt people, jealous of some, or gossiped about others.

You’ll have some names appear on more than one list, or at least I did.

Here are some about your priorities in life:

What areas of your life have you turned over to God? In what areas are you still not putting God first and why not? What in your past is keeping you from seeking and following God’s will for you? What are your personal goals for the next 90 days?

I know many people think that Celebrate Recovery isn’t for them, because they don’t need a 12 step program or maybe they think it’ll be too religious for them.  As my wise therapist once told me, take what you need from the lesson or testimony and leave the rest.

 

 

Leave a Reply

